2021 Legislative Session Dates & Other 50 State Resources

2021 legislative session dates
Collage by Ryan Stevens; image source by Ravi Krishnappa from Pixabay

Duane Morris Government Strategies put together a list of 2021 legislative session dates for all 50 states. In addition to session dates, the below table also includes which party controls each legislative chamber and governor’s office.

If you need assistance or are looking for helpful tips in navigating 2021 sessions, don’t forget to check out our helpful links below the table.

2021 Legislative Session Dates & Party Control

State Convenes Adjourns Governor Party House Control Senate Control
Alabama Tuesday, February 2, 2021 Tuesday, May 18, 2021 Republican Republican Republican
Alaska Tuesday, January 19, 2021 Sunday, April 18, 2021 Republican Republican Republican
Arizona Monday, January 11, 2021 Friday, April 23, 2021 Republican Republican Republican
Arkansas Monday, January 11, 2021 Friday, March 12, 2021 Republican Republican Republican
California Monday, December 7, 2020 Friday, September 10, 2021 Democrat Democrat Democrat
Colorado Wednesday, January 13, 2021 Thursday, May 13, 2021 Democrat Democrat Democrat
Connecticut Wednesday, January 6, 2021 Wednesday, June 9, 2021 Democrat Democrat Democrat
Delaware Tuesday, January 12, 2021 Wednesday, June 30, 2021 Democrat Democrat Democrat
Florida Tuesday, March 2, 2021 Friday, April 30, 2021 Republican Republican Republican
Georgia Monday, January 11, 2021 Friday, April 2, 2021 Republican Republican Republican
Hawaii Wednesday, January 20, 2021 Sunday, May 9, 2021 Democrat Democrat Democrat
Idaho Monday, January 11, 2021 Friday, April 2, 2021 Republican Republican Republican
Illinois Wednesday, January 13, 2021 ** Democrat Democrat Democrat
Indiana Monday, January 11, 2021 Thursday, April 29, 2021 Republican Republican Republican
Iowa Monday, January 11, 2021 Friday, April 30, 2021 Republican Republican Republican
Kansas Monday, January 11, 2021 Friday, May 14, 2021 Democrat Republican Republican
Kentucky Tuesday, January 5, 2021 Tuesday, March 30, 2021 Democrat Republican Republican
Louisiana Monday, April 12, 2021 Thursday, June 10, 2021 Democrat Republican Republican
Maine Wednesday, December 2, 2020 Wednesday, June 16, 2021 Democrat Democrat Democrat
Maryland Wednesday, January 13, 2021 Monday, April 12, 2021 Republican Democrat Democrat
Massachusetts Saturday, January 16, 2021 ** Republican Democrat Democrat
Michigan Wednesday, January 13, 2021 ** Democrat Republican Republican
Minnesota Tuesday, January 5, 2021 Monday, May 17, 2021 Democrat Democrat Republican
Mississippi Tuesday, January 5, 2021 Monday, March 15, 2021 Republican Republican Republican
Missouri Wednesday, January 6, 2021 Sunday, May 30, 2021 Republican Republican Republican
Montana Monday, January 4, 2021 Wednesday, April 28, 2021 Republican Republican Republican
Nebraska Wednesday, January 6, 2021 Thursday, June 10, 2021 Republican *** ***
Nevada Monday, February 1, 2021 Tuesday, June 1, 2021 Democrat Democrat Democrat
New Hampshire Wednesday, January 6, 2021 Monday, June 28, 2021 Republican Republican Republican
New Jersey Tuesday, January 12, 2021 ** Democrat Democrat Democrat
New Mexico Tuesday, January 19, 2021 Saturday, March 20, 2021 Democrat Democrat Democrat
New York Wednesday, January 6, 2021 ** Democrat Democrat Democrat
North Carolina Wednesday, January 13, 2021 Friday, July 30, 2021 Democrat Republican Republican
North Dakota Tuesday, January 5, 2021 Wednesday, April 28, 2021 Republican Republican Republican
Ohio Monday, January 4, 2021 Friday, December 31, 2021 Republican Republican Republican
Oklahoma Monday, February 1, 2021 Friday, May 28, 2021 Republican Republican Republican
Oregon Tuesday, January 19, 2021 Monday, June 28, 2021 Democrat Democrat Democrat
Pennsylvania Tuesday, January 5, 2021 Wednesday, December 15, 2021 Democrat Republican Republican
Rhode Island Tuesday, January 5, 2021 ** Democrat Democrat Democrat
South Carolina Tuesday, January 12, 2021 ** Republican Republican Republican
South Dakota Tuesday, January 12, 2021 Monday, March 29, 2021 Republican Republican Republican
Tennessee Tuesday, January 12, 2021 Thursday, May 6, 2021 Republican Republican Republican
Texas Tuesday, January 12, 2021 Monday, May 31, 2021 Republican Republican Republican
Utah Tuesday, January 19, 2021 Friday, March 5, 2021 Republican Republican Republican
Vermont Wednesday, January 6, 2021 Saturday, May 15, 2021 Republican Democrat Democrat
Virginia Wednesday, January 13, 2021 Saturday, February 27, 2021 Democrat Democrat Democrat
Washington Monday, January 11, 2021 Sunday, April 25, 2021 Democrat Democrat Democrat
West Virginia Wednesday, January 13, 2021 Saturday, April 10, 2021 Republican Republican Republican
Wisconsin Tuesday, January 12, 2021 ** Democrat Republican Republican
Wyoming Tuesday, January 12, 2021 Thursday, March 4, 2021 Republican Republican Republican

** Legislature meets throughout the year.

*** Nebraska has a unicameral legislature.

Close
%d bloggers like this: