dst legislation
Photo credit: iStock.com/Rawf8

On Tuesday, March 15, 2022, the U.S. Senate passed the Sunshine Protection Act which would make daylight savings time (DST) permanent for the entire nation beginning in 2023. The Senate passed the bill by voice vote, but the House has yet to consider it. Advocates for the bill argue it would reduce seasonal depression caused by changing the amount of sunlight in the day and allow everyone to enjoy the outdoors longer. As the House has yet to consider the Sunshine Protection Act, several states have acted with legislation of their own, conditional on the enactment of the Sunshine Protection Act.

California: Proposition 7 and DST Bill

In 2018, California voters approved Proposition 7, which supported allowing state lawmakers to propose permanent DST legislation. In February 2022, Assembly Member Choi introduced AB2868 to make DST permanent, dependent upon a change in federal law. In May 2022, Choi filed AB2868 for reconsideration.

Colorado: Permanent DST Bill

In April 2022, Colorado enacted HB-1297, which would put the state on permanent DST on the condition that the federal government approves the change and four other states in the Mountain Time Zone agree to make a similar switch.

Georgia: Year-Round DST Legislation

In 2021, the Georgia General Assembly passed SB100, which would have Georgia operate under year around DST, conditional on the change becoming federal law. SB100 further provides the mechanisms necessary to repeal any conflicting state law that would hinder the implementation of permanent DST.

Nebraska: Permanent DST Legislation

In early 2022, the Nebraska Legislature considered LB283, which would shift Nebraska over to permanent DST. As of April 20, 2022, LB283 was indefinitely postponed and never debated by the legislature.